Toyota GR Corolla Forum - Release Date, Specs, Pricing Discussion banner
1 - 20 of 194 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
(Feel free to move sub forum but I think everyone should know this).

So…

Getting a car these days is really difficult. Before you can just find the car online or pass by a dealership and find it on the lot. Today, you’d be lucky to find the exact car you want on the lot. With how limited and popular the GR Corolla will be, I think people need to understand the ugly system they’ll be experiencing when it comes to getting their car.

Personal Experience:

I took delivery of a 2022 GR86 after reaching out to almost every dealership in Northern California. As a frequent member and moderator of the ‘22 BRZ/GR86 Facebook Group, I’ve seen and personally experienced the painful task of buying a Toyota. I work in the car industry and Toyota has one of the worse approach to distributing cars.

The Toyota Distribution and Allocation Process:

I’ve been in the auto industry for 7 years alongside a Toyota dealership. I have a glimpse of their allocation/distribution system but might need some clarification/correction from experienced Toyota salespeople. I’ll try my best to describe it as simple as can be:

Know these terms:

Region
Dealership
Allocation Pool
Allocation
Preferencing

Region: Toyota’s division of markets based on different geographic areas and population density.

Dealership: The physical location where you purchase the car from.

Easy so far right? Not so fast.