Toyota GR Corolla Forum - Release Date, Specs, Pricing Discussion banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys, my name is Simon Maldonado and I am currently living in Charleston, South Carolina. I have been a fan of Toyota reliability since owning a 2007 Corolla several year ago, then I moved to 4Runners and Rav4 territory. Currently my personal car is a 2000 Mazda Miata and my wife family hauler is a Mazda CX-9. I am planning on going back to Toyota and I was about to replace my Miata with a GR86 but that's when I came across to the GR Corolla. As you can see I am in the fun-to-drive car mood and the only thing that pulls me from the GR86 is the boxer engine which to be honest I would prefer to have a Toyota power plant compared to Subaru boxer.

I am not a professional car driver by any means but I want to get into auto crossing and learn sports driving abilities, I hope the GR Corolla comes with some sort of track day access which I guess that experience is what is steering a lot of us to look for this hot version of the regular corolla.

·
Super Moderator
2011 FJ TT, 2001 IS300
2,123 Posts
Welcome aboard! I was looking at the twins as well before the GRY announcement and then the further GRC rumours. Definitely should be an amazing car to get into auto-cross with

·
Super Moderator
768 Posts
Welcome! I'm currently in a Focus ST and have autocrossed it a handful of times. I can confirm. Autocross is a hell of a lot of fun. That said, you're driving literally the best car possible for autocross in your Miata. You should definitely make sure you take that out to the course before you get rid of it!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·