Toyota GR Corolla Forum - Ownership Discussion banner

Dyno thread

36K views 157 replies 34 participants last post by  Cptnslo 
#1 ·
Sharing from Facebook, I know that she’s on here but I’m drawing a blank on her user name:

figured we could consolidate these runs and future runs.
Tire Wheel Car Vehicle Grille

Wheel Tire Vehicle Car Automotive lighting

Measuring instrument Font Auto part Display device Machine

Tire Wheel Vehicle Car Hood

Car Vehicle Hood Automotive lighting Grille

Font Measuring instrument Gadget Machine Office equipment

Tire Wheel Vehicle Car Vehicle registration plate

Slope Rectangle Purple Plot Font

See less See more
#2 ·
#14 ·
Some cars run closed loop at wide open, some are open loop. Not sure why some manufacturers choose to do that in the era of the wideband 02 sensor, that's above my pay grade.

I'm not a tuning expert but I've dipped my toes into it plenty of times and spoke with many tuners and tuned my own cars with a powerfc and all that shit. I think they're leaning it out when it's out of boost for throttle response/pep, since it's basically NA down low and the engine load isn't that much to risk anything. NA motors run lean pretty much all the time throughout rev range.
My guess is to also squeeze out some fuel economy.

Even NA wide open throttle AFRs are usually in the high 12s, depending on the engine.

This situation is occuring when the engine is at wide open throttle. Even if this AFR correlated inversely to boost, it would normally be in the 14s briefly. It might be 14s the instant the run starts then have a sharp drop into the 11s that mirrors boost increase.

You also can't lean burn when cruising, because that creates high NOx emissions which would not earn it federal emissions compliance.

#10 ·